Brief Profile

Prof. Prem Vrat, Ph.D. IIT Delhi

MTech, B.Tech. (Hons), IIT Kharagpur FNAE, FNASc, FWAPS, FISTE, FIIIE, Life Fellow (IIT Kharagpur)

Chairman, BOG, IIT (ISM) Dhanbad and Ex- Chairman, IIT Mandi Former AICTE- Distinguished Chair Professor

Former Founder Director, IIT Roorkee

Former Vice-Chancellor, UPTU, Lucknow (now known as AKTU, Lucknow)



Professor Prem Vrat is the Chairman Board of Governors of Indian Institute of Technology (ISM) Dhanbad and held additional charge as Chairman BOG of IIT Mandi (30-10-2020 to 25-8-2023). An outstanding academic, Prof. Prem Vrat, is the Pro-Chancellor; Professor of Eminence and Chief Mentor at The NorthCap University, (ITMU earlier) Gurugram. Just prior to joining ITMU as the Vice-Chancellor, in September 2011, he was Professor of Eminence at the MDI, Gurugram. Prof. Vrat was Founder-Director, IIT Roorkee; Vice-Chancellor, U.P. Technical University, Lucknow; Professor; Head Centre for Management Studies, Coordinator Applied Systems Research Program, Dean, Dy. Director and Director (Officiating) at IIT Delhi; Professor and Division Chairman at the Asian Institute of Technology, Bangkok. He is an Honorary Professor at IIT Delhi and was Distinguished Adjunct Professor at AIT, Bangkok. He was Chairman, Board of Governors of WIT, Dehradun. He was an AICTE- Distinguished Chair Professor. He was the first alumnus of IIT Kharagpur to have become an IIT Director. He was Honorary Research Fellow at the Department of Engineering Production, University of Birmingham, UK and International Visiting Fellow at the University of Western Sydney, Australia and has visited 22 countries. He has been teaching, conducting research and offering consulting for the past 56 years. He received a National Merit Scholarship.

He has guided 50 PhD theses, 118 M Tech. and 65 B.Tech. major projects on Industrial Application of Systems Approach and Management Science. He has published more than 520 research papers in reputable journals and proceedings of international and national conferences. His research papers have received more than 10986 citations with an h-index of 46, i-10 index of 107 and g-index of 102 and 2224 as the maximum citations of a paper as per google scholar). His research papers received on average about 650 google scholar citations each year. He has authored/co-authored 7 books and completed 5 sponsored projects and 37 consultancy assignments. His book, 'Productivity Management: A System Approach' received awards from DMA as well as ISTD. His book, 'Materials Management: An Integrated Systems Approach' published by Springer Nature is available worldwide both in print and e-book versions. He is a Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering, National Academy of Sciences, World Academy of Productivity Sciences, ISTE and the IIIE. Recipient of multiple awards and recognitions, Professor Vrat was conferred Doctor of Engineering (Honoris Causa) by Bundelkhand University; Distinguished Alumnus Award by IIT Kharagpur; Distinguished Service Award by IIT Delhi; Outstanding Contribution Award for National Development by IIT Delhi Alumni Association; Uttaranchal Ratan Award; Lillian Gilbreth Award; 15 Best Paper medals and prizes. Prof. Prem Vrat was conferred the National Systems Gold Medal by the Systems Society of India (SSI), and Honorary Membership of IIIE, the highest recognition by IIIE. SAE India Foundation bestowed on him the 'Guru' Award for his outstanding contributions. He was conferred the 'Life -Time Achievement Award' at the 18th Annual International Conference of the Society of Operations Management at IIT Roorkee in December 2014. He received Dr. M.C Puri Memorial Award of ORSI for his outstanding contribution for promotion of Operational Research in India and Life -Time Achievement Award-2017 by the Indian Institution of Industrial Engineering for Outstanding contributions to the Industrial Engineering Profession and the Society. Re-Think India conferred on him the" Visionary Edu-leader of India" Award on the 11 December 2017 given by Former President Shri Pranab Mukherjee. He was conferred the Lifetime Achievement Award by Systems Society of India and Dayal Bagh Educational Institute at DEI, Agra on 5th March 2018. U.P Chief Minister felicitated him on the 26 July 2019 for his valuable contributions as Vice-Chancellor of UPTU, during his tenure. IEOM Society International based in the USA conferred on him "The Distinguished Educator Award", 2021 for his distinguished achievements, contributions and life -long dedication to the Industrial Engineering and Operations Management Profession. He received "The Great Indian Teacher Award (GITA 2021) conferred during LEAD Global Conclave on 4th September 2021.He received APAC Educational Leadership Award in recognition of exceptional Leader who made a difference and extraordinary contribution to education sector on 3rd December 2021. He was selected for the prestigious "Atma Ram Puraskar" by Central Hindi Institute for 2018. IMT Ghaziabad conferred on him the Lifetime Achievement Award on 27th July ,2022 in POMS, India ICESCO. He was conferred the QCI Quality Champion Award by NBQP-under outstanding Jury Selection category in 2022.NCU conferred on him the Lifetime Achievement Award on 5th September 2023.IIT Kharagpur conferred on him very prestigious Life Fellow Award 2023 given by the honorable President of India on 18th December 2023. His profile is included in the edited book "100 Great IITians: Dedicated to the Service of the Nation" published by Excel India Publishers in 2024. Academic Insight in September 2024 issue included him among the "25 Most Inspiring education Leaders of India-2024".

He has been on the Board of Governors of many technical institutions and universities, on the editorial boards of many National and foreign journals. He was Chairman (NWRC) of AICTE; Chairman, Working Group on HRD in IT, Member, JNU Court; Independent Director on the Board of Air India; Co-Chairperson, RAC-DRDO, and Member, EC of YMCA University and CUH. He was Chairman INAE Forum on Engineering Education, Chairman, National Credit Framework and Chairman of the AICTE- Visvesvaraya Best Teacher Awards Committee for 2020 and 2021.